## Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology

## **Annual Day-2020: A Report**

Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology located in Janakpuri, New Delhi, affiliated to Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University; New Delhi celebrated its Annual Day on January 11, 2020. Prof. Prem Vrat, Founder- Director, IIT — Roorkee, Pro-Chancellor; Professor of Eminence and Chief Mentor at The NorthCap University, Gurugram & Professor of Eminence at the Management Development Institute (MDI), Gurugram graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. The Hon'ble Chief Guest Prof. Prem Vrat , Sh.Kaptan Singh (Vice President , SMES) Sh. Ajit Singh Choudhary (Secretary, SMES), Mr. Rajpal Solanki, (Treasurer, SMES) , Mrs. Esha Jakhar (Vice President, SMES), Prof. K.P. Choudhary (Director, MSIT), Prof. Rachita Rana (Director, MSI) and Prof. Ashok Oberoi (Director, Placements) inaugurated the function by lighting the lamp.



Sh. Kaptan Singh ji, President, SMES extended a warm welcome to the Hon'ble Chief Guest, all the dignitaries, , parents, students and all the invitees on the occasion of the Annual day 2019.





Prof. K.P. Choudhary, Director, MSIT welcomed the chief guest and the dignitaries and delivered the Annual report. He presented the achievements of the Institute, academic as well as co-curricular, and wished success to the students.





The Hon'ble chief guest addressed the gathering and promised to extend all possible help for further development of the Institute. He congratulated the institute for its all round development and the award winning students. He said that students should follow their passion and strive for excellence in the chosen field.





The Annual Prize Distribution function was a moment of pride and honour for all the winners and achievers of the Institute. The students who secured first, second and third position were awarded with certificates and prize money for their commendable performance in academics and sports activity.





On the occasion of annual day, the Institute rewards the best faculty on the basis of their performance and sincerity. The parameters which are considered for deciding award are teaching methodology, other academic responsibility taken up, co-curricular activities, extra lecture conducted, additional work handled, FDPs, Workshop, STTPs attended or organized, number of paper presented, punctuality and regularity. The "Best Faculty award" includes citation and amount of Rs 31,000/- (Rupees Thirty one thousand only). The award for the year 2019 was conferred to Dr. Pardeep Sangwan, H.O.D, Department of ECE (2<sup>nd</sup> Shift), MSIT by the Hon'ble Chief Guest for his outstanding contributions towards the Institute.



The role of research in an academic institution is significant for its sustainability and development, and it is imperative to have knowledge-driven growth based on innovation. The quest for knowledge is the basic principle behind research. The quality of research work directly translates to the quality of teaching and learning in the classroom, thereby benefiting the students, the society and the country. Keeping in view the impact of research, with the "Excellence in Research" award, Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology recognizes faculty for their outstanding contribution in the field of research.

The awards are given under various categories such as research publications in SCI AND SCI-E journals, sponsored projects, consultancy, Patents and copyrights. The "Research Excellence Award" includes a citation and an amount of Rs 5,000/- (Rupees Thirty one thousand only) for each publication. For year 2019, twelve faculties, namely, Dr. Yogendra Arya, Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, Dr. Puneet Azad, Department of ECE, Dr. Shefali Madan Arora, Ms. Deepti Deshwal, Department of ECE, Dr. Sunil Gupta, Associate Professor, Department of EEE, Dr. Anupama Kaushik, Associate Professor, Department of IT, Ms. Prabhjot Kaur, Associate Professor, Department of IT, Dr. Geetika Dhand, Reader, Department of CSE, Ms. Neetu Sehrawat, Department of ECE ((2<sup>nd</sup> Shift) E), Dr. Aman Dahiya, Assistant Professor, ECE, Mr. Sandeep Singh, Assistant Professor, ECE (2<sup>nd</sup> Shift), Dr. Swati Chaudhary, Department of Applied Sciences (2<sup>nd</sup> Shift) twere awarded with citation and prize money of Rs 5000/- each by the Hon'ble Chief guest.







The event concluded with vote of thanks delivered by Sh. Ajit Singh Choudhary, Secretary, Surajmal Memorial Education Society.

Report Prepared by Prof. Archana Balyan, Convener, Annual Day-2020