Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology Annual Day-2023:

A Report

Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology located in Janakpuri, New Delhi, affiliated to Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University; New Delhi celebrated its Annual Day for three Academic Year 2021-22, 2020-2021, and 2019-2020 on 15th April, 2023.

Prof. (Dr.) Mahesh Verma , Padma Shri ,Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, New Delhi, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. The Hon'ble Chief Guest Prof. (Dr.) Mahesh Verma , Sh.Kaptan Singh (President , SMES),Sh. Ajit Singh Choudhary (Secretary, SMES), Mr. Rajpal Solanki, (Treasurer, SMES) , Mrs. Esha Jakhar (Vice President, SMES), Prof. (Col) Ranjit Singh (Director, MSIT), Prof. (Dr.) Harish Singh (Director, MSI) and Prof. H.S. Rawat, Director – T&P, inaugurated the function by lighting the lamp.





Sh. Kaptan Singh ji, President, SMES extended a warm welcome to the Hon'ble Chief Guest, all the dignitaries, parents, students and all the invitees on the occasion of the Annual day 2023.





Prof. (Col) Ranjit Singh, Director, MSIT welcomed the chief guest and the dignitaries and delivered the Annual report. He outlined the Institute's accomplishments, both academic and extracurricular, and wished success to the students.



Prof. H.S. Rawat, Director – T&P, SMES. highlighted to the attendees about the campus' training and placement department, that works diligently to organise a number of training and placement programmes throughout the academic year



The chief guest's promise to provide assistance to the institute is a generous offer that could greatly benefit the institution and its students. Overall, the chief guest's speech was both motivational and supportive, and it's likely that his words will have a positive impact on the institute and its students. The chief guest inaugurated the alumni websites and the software development cell website.



The Annual Prize Distribution function is an important event that not only recognizes the achievements of the institute's students but also helps to foster a culture of excellence, build community, and inspire future success. The students were awarded certificates, mementos, and prize money for their commendable performance in academics, outstanding excellence, and sports activity.

Such incentives can encourage students to work harder and set higher goals for themselves.



On the occasion of annual day, the Institute also rewards the Best Faculty award in two categories

- Best Faculty
- 2nd Best faculty Award

With a prize money of Rs 21,000/-(Rupees Thirty one only), to best faculty and a prize money of Rs

11,000 to second best faculty

"Best employee of the year" "in three categories

- Administrative & Library
- Laboratory
- Class- IV / Group D Staff

each with a prize money of Rs 5,000/- (Rupees Five thousand only).

The Hon'ble Chief Guest presented Dr. Meena Tushir and Dr. Koyal Dutta Gupta with the Best Faculty and Second Best Faculty Awards for the year 2022 in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the Institute. When electing award winners, a number of factors are taken into account, including teaching methods, additional academic responsibilities taken on, extracurricular activities, extra lectures given, extra work completed, FDPs, Workshops, and STTPs attended or organised, the number of papers delivered, punctuality, and regularity.

Mrs. Reeetu Verma won the award for best employee of the year in the administrative and library category. Mrs. Neetu Technical Assistant, IT department, wons the Laboratory category prize. Mr. Sunder Lal, CSE Department, receives the Class-IV category award.









Besides, Research Excellence Award is given to that faculty who gets sponsored projects, Patent granted and publishes good quality research papers in reputed journals SCI /SCI-E/ESCI. An

amount of Rs 5000/- is given to each publication.

There were 54 faculty members from the departments of applied sciences, EEE, ECE, IT, and CSE who received research awards.Dr. Anupama Kaushik, Associate Professor, Department of IT, Dr. Prabhjot Kaur, Associate Professor, Department of IT, got award for patent grant.

Memento was presented to the Chief Guest by the Mrs. Esha Jakhar (Vice President, SMES). A vote of thanks was delivered by Sh. Ajit Singh Choudhary (Secretary, SMES).







Dr. Rekha Tripthi (Convenor) Dr. Richa Gupta (Co-Convenor)